Two Events

March 13, 2001

Two Events Important to the Arts in Minnesota on March 15

2:00 p.m.: “Chamber” Music…and more! Minnesota Artists to Perform at the Capitol

Arts Performances will be held in the House Chamber at the State Capitol in St. Paul on Thursday, March 15, at 2:00, before the start of House floor session. A reception will follow in the House retiring room. The show will include a variety of disciplines, including theatre, dance, classical, folk and opera music. We hope to give legislators a taste of the varied arts available in our state. You are invited to come watch the performances.

4:00 – 7:00 p.m. Charitable Giving Tax Relief Act (S.F. 146)
Hearing in Senate Income & Sales Tax Budget Division, Room 15 State Capitol

Currently, people who do not itemize on their federal income tax forms are allowed to deduct 50% of total charitable contributions over $500 on their Minnesota income tax form. This bill would increase the deduction to 100% of total charitable contributions over $500, which would encourage charitable giving to nonprofit organizations. Please come to these hearings to show the House and Senate your support for this bill. Also, please call or write the members of this committee and ask them to support this bill:

CHAIR: Don Betzold,Fridley, G-9 State Capitol, 651-296-2556
Bob Kierlin, Winona, 127 State Office Building, 651-296-5649
Michelle Fischbach,Paynesville,G-15 State Capitol, 651-296-2084
Chuck Fowler, Fairmont, G-9 State Capitol, 651-296-5713
Tony Kinkel, Park Rapids, G-9 State Capitol, 651-296-4913
Bob Lessard, Int’l Falls, G-51 State Capitol, 651-296-4136
Warren Limmer, Maple Grve,121 State Office Bdg,651-296-2159
John Marty, Roseville, 325 State Capitol, 651-296-5645
Steve Murphy, Red Wing, 306 State Capitol, 651-296-4264
Myron Orfield, Minneapolis, 227 State Capitol, 651-296-4191
Mady Reiter, Shoreview, 132D State Office Building, 651-296-1253
Grace Schwab, Albert Lea, 151 State Office Building, 651-296-9248
David Tomassoni, Chisholm, 111 State Capitol, 651-296-8017

NOTE ALSO: Friday, March 16: 10:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.: Hearing in the House Tax Committee
Also on the Charitable Giving Tax Relief Act (H.F. 15), 200 State Office Building

Please call or write members of the House Tax Committee and ask them to support this bill:

CHAIR: Ron Abrams, Minnetonka, 585 State Office Building, 296-9934
Roxann Daggett, Frazee, 439 State Office Building, 296-4293
Irv Anderson, International Falls, 343 State Office Building, 296-4936
Connie Bernardy, Fridley, 329 State Office Building, 296-5510
Andy Dawkins, St. Paul, 215 State Office Building, 296-5158
Jerry Dempsey, Hastings, 575 State Office Building, 296-8635
Dan Dorman, Albert Lea, 579 State Office Building, 296-8216
Ron Erhardt, Edina, 591 State Office Building, 296-4363
Mark Gleason, Richfield, 313 State Office Building, 296-5375
Elaine Harder, Jackson, 583 State Office Building, 296-5373
Carl Jacobson, Vadnais Heights, 429 State Office Building, 296-7153
Jim Knoblach, St. Cloud, 451 State Office Building, 296-6316
Philip Krinkie, Shoreview, 365 State Office Building, 296-2907
William Kuisle, Rochester, 565 State Office Building, 296-4378
Rob Leighton, Austin, 289 State Office Building, 296-4193
Ann Lenczewski, Bloomington, 337 State Office Building, 296-4218
Dan McElroy, Burnsville, 437 State Office Building, 296-4212
Bob Milbert, South St. Paul, 243 State Office Building, 296-4192
Joe Mullery, Minneapolis, 387 State Office Building, 296-4262
Erik Paulsen, Eden Prairie, 545 State Office Building, 296-7449
Michelle Rifenberg, La Crescent, 423 State Office Building, 296-1069
Tom Rukavina, Virginia, 375 State Office Building, 296-0170
Neva Walker, Minneapolis, 213 State Office Building, 296-7152
Tim Wilkin, Eagan, 413 State Office Building, 296-3533
Ted Winter, Fulda, 247 State Office Building, 296-5505

All phone numbers are (651). All addresses are in St. Paul, MN 55155.